Health Services Scholar Program

The Emory Urology Health Services Scholar Program offers academic research training for individuals who have completed their urology residency. This program is offered in conjunction with the Georgia Clinical and Translational Science Alliance, an academic research partnership of Emory University School of Medicine, Morehouse School of Medicine, Georgia Institute of Technology, and the University of Georgia, and leads to a Master of Science in Clinical Research degree (MSCR).

The program provides academic faculty with didactic and mentored training in health services research. Concurrent with a clinical urology practice (40 percent), candidates are provided 60 percent of protected academic time to enroll in the MSCR degree program and conduct clinical and translational research in their area of interest and expertise.

The Emory MSCR degree program is sponsored by the Laney Graduate School of Emory University, and is designed for faculty members who have demonstrated commitment to a career in clinical investigation. The MSCR requires a minimum of 30 academic credit hours, which includes classes, a research thesis, and a written grant proposal. Mentoring is provided by established and federally-funded clinical investigators. The primary objective of the program is to train future leaders in urology health services.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Completion of an ACGME-accredited urology residency in the U.S. or Canada

  • Eligible for the American Board of Urology certification examination

  • Eligible for Georgia State Medical License

Application Deadline

April 1, 2020

2013-2015 Scholar

Current Emory Urology faculty member Akanksha Mehta, MD.

Contact Information

Abigail Irvine
Assistant to the Chair, Department of Urology
Emory University School of Medicine
1365-B Clifton Road NE, Suite 1403, Atlanta, GA 30322