Emory Urology Well Represented at 82nd SESAUA Meeting

March 2018

As key participants at the 82nd Annual Meeting of the Southeastern Section of the American Urological Association (SESAUA), held in Orlando, FL, in March 2018, Emory Urology faculty, residents, and research staff were involved in several research presentations, panel discussions, and moderated sessions. In addition, faculty members and residents received various awards and accolades at the meeting.

Emory Urology members made a total of four poster presentations, three podium presentations, and three video presentations. Several faculty members were also panel discussants and session moderators. As panelists, Christopher Filson, MD, MS, Assistant Professor, described approaches to advanced prostate cancer; Kenneth Ogan, MD, Professor, discussed improving surgical outcomes in older adults; and Niall Galloway, MB, FRCS, Associate Professor, reviewed neurogenic bladder care.

Faculty that served as moderators include Chad Ritenour, MD, Professor; Cara Cimmino, MD, Assistant Professor; Muta Issa, MD, Professor; and Aaron Lay, MD, Assistant Professor.

Mehrdad Alemozaffar, MD, Assistant Professor, and Dr. Ritenour received additional recognition for the quality of their work at the meeting, with Dr. Alemozaffar winning the Best Video Award for "Robotic Repair of Left Uretero-neobladder Anastomotic Stricture Following Prior Robotic Radical Cystectomy and Intracorporeal Neobladder Diversion," and Dr. Ritenour being selected to serve as Chair of the Committee on Education and Science on the 2018-2019 SESAUA Executive Committee.

PGY-4 resident Louis Aliperti, MD, received third place in the 2018 Montague Boyd Essay Contest for his presentation, "Genitourinary Prosthetic Use Among Prostate Cancer Survivors Treated with Radical Prostatectomy," and PGY-3 Mohammed Said, MD, was a member of the winning team at the Resident Quiz Bowl.