2017 Academic Year Closes with Graduation Banquet and Awards Celebration

June 2017

The 2017 Emory Urology Residents Graduation Event was held on the evening of June 23 at Ansley Golf Club in Midtown, Atlanta. Emory Urology members gathered to commemorate the achievements of faculty and the graduating class. The graduating chief residents were Samuel David, MD, Salil Gabale, MD, Jonathan Huang, MD, and Ilan Safir, MD. The graduating pediatric urology fellow was Anthony Tracey, MD, and the graduating reconstructive urology fellow was Lindsey Hartsell, MD.

The celebration began with John Petros, MD, Professor of Urology, presenting Lou Aliperti, MD, with the Resident Academic Achievement Award. Ken Ogan, MD, Professor of Urology, conferred the Cooner Award for Excellence in Patient Care on Dr. Huang. Later in the program, Dr. Huang also received the Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons Outstanding Minimally Invasive Surgeon Award.

At the conclusion of the main entree, Wolfgang Cerwinka, MD, Director of the Emory Pediatric Urology Fellowship, presented Dr. Tracey with the pediatric urology fellowship certificate, and Dr. Carney presented Dr. Hartsell with the reconstructive fellowship certificate. Dr. Tracey has joined a private practice group in Greenville, SC, and Dr. Hartsell is now Assistant Professor of Urology at Emory University.

The awards ceremony continued with Edwin Smith, MD, presenting Bruce Broecker, MD, with the Faculty Service Recognition Award. Dr. Broecker was a pediatric urologist at Emory University from 1990-2016. He was unable to attend the ceremony, but his daughter, Justine Broecker, MD, an intern in general surgery at Emory University, accepted the award on his behalf. Dr. Broecker also prepared a poignant video that expressed thanks and appreciation to all of those who contributed to his success during his distinguished career.

Martin Sanda, MD, Chairman of the Department of Urology, then presented the Emory Urology Alumni Award to Niall Galloway, MD. Dr. Galloway, Associate Professor of Urology and Director of the Emory Continence Center, came to Emory in 1988. Under his leadership, the Emory Continence Center was established and progressed to become a nationally renowned Center of Excellence. The center provides comprehensive evaluation and management for pelvic floor dysfunction, including urinary incontinence, organ prolapse, bowel problems, and pelvic pain.

Chad Ritenour, MD, Professor of Urology and Program Director of the Residency Program, then presented the graduating chiefs with their certificates, after which the chiefs honored John Pattaras, MD, Associate Professor of Urology and Chief of Urology at Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital, with the Resident Education Award. A pioneering minimally invasive urologist with clinical and research interests in minimally invasive cancer and stone surgery, endourology, laparoscopy, and robotic surgery, Dr. Pattaras joined the Department in 2000. In a group statement, the chiefs attested: "Dr. Pattaras was instrumental in spearheading the establishment of the urology expansion efforts at Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital. He moved his practice and has supported resident education at the new clinical site, which has become an important training site for robotic surgery for the residents."

The event closed with the bittersweet yet entertaining chief resident roast and rebuttal. Dr. David is now the reconstructive urology fellow at Emory University, Dr. Gabale has joined a private practice group in the Philadelphia area, Dr. Huang is doing an endourology fellowship at Yale University, and Dr. Safir is an andrology fellow at Hofstra University in New York.

««return to top