2016 Town Hall Meeting and Department Retreat

Scenes from the breakout session.

Scenes from the breakout session.

August 2016

The 3rd Annual Emory Urology Town Hall on August 12th, attended by over 80 faculty, residents, and staff, began with Jonathan Lewin, MD, Executive Vice President for Health Affairs, presenting the following peer-selected recognition awards: the Administrative Service Excellence Award to Kellie Romany; the Clinical Service Excellence Award to Sandra Hedrick, RN, and Leigha Lowe; the Research Service Excellence Award to Grace Lee; and the 20-Year Service Award to Chad Ritenour, MD, Professor of Urology. Dr. Lewin also recognized team members that had completed their first year with the Department.

Dr. Sanda then delivered the State-of-the-Department address, which summarized our research, training, and clinical achievements throughout the year, while also noting components of the Department's mission that would benefit from additional fine-tuning and collaboration. The town hall concluded with Dr. Sanda and Marika Johnson, Emory Urology's Clinical Operations Manager, responding to questions that had been submitted by Emory Urology faculty and staff prior to the event.

Faculty, advanced practice providers, and other leaders then participated in the Emory Urology Department Retreat, which was held at the Michael C. Carlos Museum on the Emory University campus. The retreat commenced with an informative coding presentation led by Deepti Damle, Assistant Director of Patient Financial Services for The Emory Clinic, and Ramyi Brown, Revenue Cycle Operation Manager for Emory Healthcare.

The retreat's main event was the Big, Hairy, Audacious Goal (BHAG) Breakout Session. Mersiha Torlak, MPH, Emory Urology's Director of Clinical Trials, and Lisa Fisher, Senior Clinical Administrator for Emory Urology as well as Emory Surgery, recapped the process whereby faculty, residents, and practitioners had developed and selected the Emory Urology BHAG: "To Become the Top Urology Program in the Southeast."

The breakout session itself was dedicated to further developing the BHAG. Attendees were assigned to one of six tables, two of which were dedicated to the Department's mission of research innovation, two to education, and two to clinical excellence. Each table was tasked with clarifying what it means to be the top program in terms of their particular mission component, and further defining which three-to-five metrics would best identify progress towards achieving the BHAG.

««return to top