Skip Navigation

Health Services Scholar Program

The Department of Urology at Emory University seeks candidates for two-year Health Services Scholars Program starting in July 2015.

The Emory Urology Health Services Scholar Program is an academic training for individuals who have completed their urology residency. This program is offered in conjunction with Emory’s Atlanta Clinical & Translational Science Institute (ACTSI) leading to a degree; Master of Science in Clinical Research (MSCR).

The program provides academic faculty with didactic and mentored training in health services research. Concurrent with a clinical urology practice (40%), candidates are provided 60% protected academic time to enroll in the Master of Science in Clinical Research (MSCR) degree program, and conduct clinical and translational research in their area of interest and expertise.  

The Emory MSCR degree program is sponsored by the Laney Graduate School at Emory University, and is designed for faculty members who have demonstrated a commitment to a career in clinical investigation. The MSCR requires a minimum of 30 academic credit hours, which include classes, a research thesis and a written grant proposal. Mentoring is provided by an established and successful federally-funded clinical investigator. The primary objective of the program is to train future leaders in urology health services.

Eligibility Criteria
• Completion of an ACGME-accredited urology residency in the US or Canada
• Eligible for the American Board of Urology certification examination
• Eligible for Georgia State Medical License

Application Deadline - March 15, 2015

2013-2015 Scholar - Dr. Akanksha Mehta

Contact Information
Ms. Kellie Romany
Assistant to the Chairman, Department of Urology
Emory University School of Medicine
1365B Clifton Road NE, Suite 1400, Atlanta, GA 30322 (404) 778-6874