Skip Navigation

William Hollis Cooner Award

The Cooner Award is given to a resident who through the preceding year of residency training has best emulated the compassion and care for patients exhibited by Dr. William Hollis Cooner.


William Hollis Cooner (1927-1994) 
Professor of Surgery (Urology)
Emory University School of Medicine

As global as his medical travels were, Bill Cooner was born in the somewhat less cosmopolitan city of Jasper, Alabama, the son of a judge and a schoolteacher. He was educated at the University of Alabama and its Medical School and at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Medicine and hospital. He served in the Air Force both in the European and Asian theaters and finally as Chief of Urology at Maxwell Air Force Base in Montgomery. Dr. Conner was a Professor of Urology at Emory University until the spring of 1994 when he return to his home in Mobile, there to face his own serious illness after four decades as a healer and teacher of healers.
Of all the scores of honors that have come to him, five stood out in his mind: the 1978-79 presidency of the American Association of Clinical Urologists; the 1990 Distinguished Contribution Award of the American Urological Association; its Presidential Citation Award, presented in October 1994; his selection for the 1992 Distinguished Alumnus Award by UAB; and finally and possibly the most moving of all, in Atlanta in late spring of 1994. As Bill was preparing to leave Emory, his colleagues of the urology faculty established an annual award in his honor, to be presented each year to the resident who, during the preceding year best emulated “the compassion and care for patients exhibited by William Hollis Cooner, Professor of Surgery (Urology).” He was asked to sign 100 certificates to go with the bronze medal bearing his likeness, thus assuring the first century of perpetuity for the award. In 1994, Dr. Edwin A. Smith was the inaugural recipient of the Cooner Award.

2015 - Aaron D. Weiss, MD
2014 - Lindsey A. Herrel, MD
2013 - Austin B. DeRosa, MD
2012 - Justin M. Watson, MD
2011 - Jordan E. Angell, MD
2010 - Hadley W. Wyre, MD
2009 - Kate H. Kraft, MD
2008 - Wayland Hsiao, MD
2007 - Nedra Y. Hood, MD
2006 - Andrew R. Bullock, MD
2005 - Chester C. Wilmot, MD

2004 - Thomas K. Slabaugh, MD
2003 - Anand Krishnan, MD
2002 - David Scott, MD, PhD
2001 - Nick Symbas, MD
2000 - V. Keith Jiminez, MD
1999 - Chad W. M. Ritenour, MD
1998 - Jonathan Kalish, MD
1997 - Murphy F. Townsend, MD
1996 - Murphy F. Townsend, MD
1995 - Todd H. Hoekstra, MD
1994 - Edwin A. Smith, MD

2015 - Dr. Aaron Weiss winner of 2015 the Cooner Award

2015 Cooner Award